Test Execution Schedule

Profile picture for user devraj

The Test execution schedule defines the order in which test cases and test procedures are run. It is a scheme for the execution of test procedures and test cases. Once the various test cases and test procedures are produced and assembled into test suites, the test suites can be arranged in a test execution schedule.

One of the major activities of Test Implementation involves the strategic arrangement of test suites within the test execution schedule to ensure effective and efficient test execution. During the test execution phase, the test suites are executed according to the predefined test execution schedule.

Table of Contents

  1. Test Execution Scheduling Factors
  2. Test Execution Schedule Example
  3. Video Tutorial

Test Execution Scheduling Factors

The construction of the test execution schedule must take into account several crucial factors, including:

  1. Prioritization: The test cases should be sequenced based on their priority levels, with the higher-priority ones executed first. However, dependencies among the test cases or features being tested may require deviation from this order.
  2. Dependencies: If a test case with a higher priority is dependent on a test case with a lower priority, the lower-priority test case must be executed first. Similarly, if there are interdependencies among test cases, they must be arranged to respect these dependencies regardless of their priorities.
  3. Confirmation and Regression Tests: The prioritization of confirmation and regression tests should be based on the significance of the prompt feedback on changes. However, as with other test cases, their scheduling may need to consider dependencies.
  4. Most Efficient Test Execution Sequence: In some instances, multiple test execution sequences may be viable, each with its own efficiency level. In such scenarios, a trade-off between the test execution's efficiency and adherence to prioritization may be necessary.

Test Execution Schedule Example

Execution OrderTest Case IDDependencyPriority
1TC-1 P3
2TC-4 P3
3TC-3TC-1, TC-4P2
4TC-2 P3
5TC-6TC-2, TC-3P1
  • Although TC-3 has a higher priority than TC-1 and TC-4, it can only be executed after TC-1 and TC-4, as TC-3 depends on both.
  • TC-6 has a higher priority than TC-2 and TC-3; TC-2 and TC-3 must be executed first due to dependencies. 
  • TC-5 and TC-6 have the same priority; TC-6 is executed first, as TC-5 depends on TC-6.